Diploma Privilege Candidates

Pro Bono Opportunities

If you are a prospective Utah attorney seeking licensure through Diploma Privilege, you may participate in the following pro bono opportunities and count them toward your 360 hour requirement.

Please note that every candidate must have a supervising attorney prior to beginning their service in one of the programs. The programs provide work and direct supervision but do not provide candidates with a supervising attorney.

If you have questions about how to find a supervising attorney, please contact one of the following:

Carrie Boren, Utah State Bar - carrie.boren@utahbar.org
Shannon Grandy, BYU Law School - grandys@law.byu.edu
Arturo Thompson, University of Utah College of Law - arturo@law.utah.edu

These programs have been pre-approved by the Utah State Bar Access to Justice Office in accordance with the language set forth in Section III(e) of the Order regarding Diploma Privilege.

Description: Take on a pro bono case from start to finish. Training materials and mentoring available for most cases. Sponsoring Entity: Utah Legal Services
Contact: Tatiana Christensen - tchristensen@utahlegalservices.org

Description: Take on a pro bono case from start to finish. Training materials and mentoring available.
Sponsoring Entity: Utah Immigration Collaborative
Contact: Alyssa Williams - awilliams@ccsutah.org; Kate Barber - kate@ilsutah.org

Description:  Tuesday evening online advice clinic from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. Recent grads will be paired with experienced attorneys to conduct online interviews and to give advice.  
Sponsoring Entity: Timpanogos Legal Center
Contact: Julene Curtis - julenetimplegal@gmail.com

Description: Draft divorce and custody documents for pro se parties. Receive templates and mentoring from experienced attorneys.
Sponsoring Entity: Timpanogos Legal Center
Contact: Michelle Lesue - michelletimplegal@gmail.com

Note: Due to Coronavirus, many pro bono programs are currently not running. More opportunities will be added to this list as programs begin to resume operation.